NHW Accepting Board Nominations

The National Hereford Women (NHW) have three open board positions— one board member for each of the following regions: Northeast, Northwest and Southwest. Contact nominating committee chairman, Alise Nolan at 903-797-6131 or 903-841-2726for more information.

NHW Outstanding Hereford Woman of the Year Nominations Due Sept.15

Nominations for the 2014 National Hereford Women (NHW) Outstanding Woman of the Year are due by Sept. 15. Selection is based on accomplishments in promoting Herefordcattle or the beef industry through the media or other organizations or within her ownHereford operation.

Any NHW member exhibiting outstanding leadership in a state Hereford women’s or Poll-ettes organization or in NHW activities such as hospitality, membership, youth activities, scholarship programs, queen programs, ways and means, publicity and other related activities in state/national arenas should be considered. Previous winners are ineligible. NHW officers and directors are not eligible during their term of office for this award.

To nominate, please send a written letter of recommendation with the nominee’s full name to:

Suzanne Matheny
6706 US 68
Mays Lick,KY 41055
Fax: 606-759-2001

Brooke Jensen National Hereford QueenNational and State Hereford Queens at 2013 JNHE


Are You Interested In Becoming A National Hereford Queen Sponsor?

If you said yes to this question, the NHW has just the program for you!  In the last year the NHW started a Queen Sponsorship Program that is intended to help with expenses for the events that a National Queen incurs as an ambassador for the Hereford breed.

Opportunities to become a sponsor vary at the different monetary levels.

Donors can choose to give as a one-time donation, annually, or as an event sponsor.

All donations are tax deductible and can range from $1.00 to $3,000 and above.

Levels of sponsorship include:

• Pearl ($1.00 – $500.00

• Ruby ($501.00- $1500.00)

• Emerald ($1501.00-2,999.00)

• Diamond ($3000.00 and above)

Contact Suzanne Matheny (Co-Chair National Queen Committee) 6706 US 68, Mayslick, Kentucky 41055  /606-584-0577.


 2013 JNHE Princess TeaStatequeens

The NHW would like to thank all of our current donors and we look forward to working with our future donors!

Donors as of July 2014 include:

  • Warnken Rockin W Inc. – Schulenburg, Texas
  •  Jean Priefert – Fairmont, Nebraska
  •  H Bar Ranch – Moore, Kansas
  •  White Columns Farm – North Augusta, South Carolina
  • Mohican Farms – Glenmont, Ohio
  •  Schutte & Sons – Guide Rock, Nebraska
  •  Colby & Shellie Collins – Chatanooga, Oklahoma
  • Reed Enterprises – Green Ridge, Missouri
  • Lori Hambright – Chapman, Kansas
  • Priefert Farms – Fairmont,  Nebraska

Selena Boner named 2013 National Hereford Woman of the Year


Brooke Jensen named 2013-2014 National Hereford Queen


2013-2014 NHW Board of Directors



Welcome and congratulate Maddee Moore, OR; Suzanne Matheny, KY; and Michelle Beran, KS to the board of directors this year.

NHW Dues

$20/year or $400/lifetime

Due before the conclusion of the Junior National Hereford Expo each year.

Contact:  Beth Blinson PO Box 3897, Buies Creek, NC 27506,  phone 919-422-5163,